top of page

Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu

Updated: Aug 11, 2019

Traditional Japanese Combative Arts

Taijutsu refers to the techniques of unarmed combat in Japanese martial arts, and is an umbrella term including strikes, kicks, throws, joint locks, chokes, and passive defensive combat relevant movement (such as rolling, diving, leaping, climbing). Tai is a term that refers to the body, or body movement in this case, jutsu as described above implies the technical application of its prefix. Taijutsu hence, is the technique of body movement, and Budo Taijutsu is that technique applied to martial arts.

There are elements of Kyushojutsu (pressure point study), Jutaijutsu (joint locking, throwing, choking, and grappling), Dakentaijutsu (striking, kicking, and blocking), Taihenjutsu (rolling, falling, leaping, running, etc..), Junan Taiso (stretching, mobility conditioning), and a variety of different weapons once a basis in unarmed movement is established.

The Bujinkan

The Bujinkan is an international martial arts organization founded and headed by Masaaki Hatsumi in Japan. The combative system in the Bujinkan is comprised of nine separate martial schools (known as ryuha); these 9 ryuha are referred to collectively as Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu. The ryuha are the living traditions descended from samurai martial technique and strategies of the shinobi, due to this, the Bujinkan has become most commonly associated with ninjutsu and the ninja.

Bujinkan is comprised of two characters, "Bujin" being a term used to describe a "divine warrior" or the embodiment of